From Greece with Love

.

Olga Vernardou

I got into Scn in 1992 in Athens, Greece. There was only one mission at that time in Greece (which eventually became an org). In 1993, I joined the SO in Los Angeles, to work in the translations unit and thus help the mission become an org. Arriving there I was posted in Management TU, FB. We only translated management issues. To translate LRH I was told I had to move up to Gold.

From that moment on, outpoints started to pile up. In my translator’s mini-hat,  I already spotted that the tech we were following was not per LRH.  And, that it didn’t make sense.  Unnecessary steps had been added. I also observed working together with another Greek translator from Gold, that LRH translations were almost impossible to get out as they had to be AVC approved.  AVC had so many rejects to handle on each piece of material that it was absurd.

However,  life was livable until 1996 when an Int Mgmt mission was fired to FB for the implementation of the New Era of Management.

  That   mission   violated   almost   every   policy   I   knew.

The structure of the org changed and almost everyone changed post overnight.  FB became FCB among other things  and even the interior of the HGB building was changed, with walls being taken down and new ones built.  I then felt that the CoS had been taken over. Shortly after that, we got the Golden Age of Tech (GAT another squirrel operation) from Int Mgmt. By that time it was clear to me that Church Management was anti-LRH.

Another interesting thing is that Greek was considered a “small language.”  So during the “drills evolution” (translation of the GAT drills into “major languages”) my junior was moved to the SAG building (Screen Actor’s Guilt on Hollywood Blvd) to help other languages in the evolution. One day with the help of two Russian translators, I loaded my computer into a van going to the  SAG building and moved there myself. When my seniors found out it was too late, the translations mission at SAG kept me there. I got my junior back and we established the Greek translations unit where we could freely do LRH translations for the first time. My husband, who was at ASHO since that time was also moved to SAG by the mission. This was the most fun part in the SO. Doing LRH translations in a sane environment, together with Gold translators.

But let me tell you about another huge outpoint. During this evolution, the unnecessary steps I mentioned in the beginning were REMOVED, as ED Int “found out” they were arbitraries! Well, this was in order to speed up the translation of DM’s squirrel drills. When the evolution was over, the very same arbitraries were put back in! The fun part was then  ended, followed with the confirmation that Int Mgmt would do anything in the direction of stopping LRH translations, in the direction of suppressing expansion of Scn.

I kept writing higher and higher, reaching COB himself in the end. I got an answer from RTC that “there are  other LRH tech in translations”  that I would only find out when moving up to GOLD!!! That left no doubt that Int Mgmt had been infiltrated. David Miscavige was obviously a plant. Besides, the fact that his programs were never standardly written (which could be easily observed ) indicated that he either did not know Scientology or he considered himself senior to LRH.

Shortly after the GAT evolution, we were sent to CLO EU,  together with most of the other management translators since TU did not belong to the new org board.

From there on, we were involved in a “counter-espionage” activity. We were researching for violations. Collecting “juicy” replies to queries, looking for alterations by comparing revised materials to the original etc. We had no idea of what had happened in 1982 and didn’t know there was an independent field outside. We stayed in hopes that we could change things from inside. But that proved impossible.

The right moment for leaving came the day that CO CLO ordered myself and my junior to M9 and starrate a COB program on translations. A squirrel program (of course). Of all the things I had been asked to do in the SO, this was the one that really seemed impossible. So,  I reread the Code of Honor. The choice I had to make was clear. At night, after work, I told my husband and my junior that I had decided to leave. After minor deliberation, all  three of us left that same night taking a cab to Sweden. We eventually arrived to Greece in August 2000.

Being out of the Church, we (my husband and I) first worked as freelance translators and then moved into advertising . We have  two children 8 and 10 years old. I have done graphics design for the past 8 years or so.

I have very few Scientology friends here (there are almost no independents in Greece) but I know a lot of people who are spiritually inclined and my effort has been to enlighten them on the most basic truths. That we are spiritual beings, with no matter, energy, space or form. That we are not really “part” of the material universe but are instead co-creating it through our considerations and participate “in it”  the same way we play a computer game.

I write articles on this like short stories in my blog. I’m also writing a “scifi” book  “Memoirs of a Spirit” with the whole track autobiography of the being relating it.

Now I have said and now you know.  Thanks for listening.

~~~~~~   ~~~~~~

.

So, whats your story?

Do you have a story or event regarding Scientology, the Church, or a person of interest that you would like to share with others?  If so,  please submit it to  dianaclass8@yahoo.com  and we will post it here. 

.

2 responses to “From Greece with Love

  1. Hello Aida & Olga,
    Its hard to see whats ongoing. I can´t share my story yet. There are potential legal risks left for me and others, in or out of the church.
    I found an interesting page which is worth to read. Most of the reports are factual,some emotional.
    http://alley.ethercat.com/door/
    Those reports describe the mess, the church has left during the last 30 years.

  2. Thank you very much Olga for sharing your story with us. I’m sorry to hear that there are no “independents” in Greece as of yet. However, as i don’t see the church changing its colors any time soon, that is sure to change eventually. Love and blessings to you Olga. Michael

Leave a Reply

